Wednesday 5th May 2021

IN what used to pass as a ‘normal’ season, somewhere around March Sons View editor would start thinking about the Sons View Player of the Year trophy.

Like last season, that changed to Sons View Player of the Year award. The reason for the difference is the lockdown preventing any reasonable way of ordering the trophy and engraving it.

Last season Kyle Hutton was our winner and for the first time since 1998, he got nothing to show for it.

So, for this year, it was decided to splash out on a nice bottle of champagne for the winner. That just left deciding who to award it to. Over the years we’ve managed to award it to every number 1 to 11 (the editor is old and ignores squad numbers)!

This is the 29th year of the award and the first winner was John Boyd. Jim Meechan was the first player to win it in consecutive seasons and the first keeper was Stephen Grindlay.

This year, we have another first. After much deliberation it came down to a choice between two players.

Graeme Robertson pictured with joint Sons View player of the year award winners Morgyn Neill and Ryan McGeever.

However, much like any other double act, you can’t have one without the other. So last Tuesday, before the Forfar Athletic game, Ryan McGeever and Morgan Neill were presented with a bottle of champers each.

Congratulations gentlemen!

And so say all of us at DFC!

Graeme Robertson

Leave a comment


Sons Sign Up

Become a member of our online community and get tickets to upcoming matches faster!

Please wait...

Thank you for sign up!